top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmelieWoo

2024.02.23 Lecture Katie Greenyer

Updated: Mar 20

Keyword: keep creative, embracing passion, CV and Interview preparation

"You play

You love

You try

You failed

You try again

You learn

You know what really mattered

You do more of what matters"


This is the slogan from a promotional video for the brand Pentland (https://pentlandbrands.com) where Katie works, and it struck a chord with me, much like Katie herself. Katie Greenyer is an engaging speaker, adept at capturing her audience's attention. As the topic of her speech shifted from her educational background to her professional experience, she changed her jacket. She swapped a typical slim-fit suit jacket for a Japanese-style kimono with wide sleeves that perfectly reflected her personal style. It was a demonstration of her personal charm.

这是Katie所任职的品牌Pentalnd的宣传视频里的文案,令我印象深刻,就像她本人一样。Katie Greenyer是一位很有趣的讲座者,她很懂得如何抓住听众的注意力。当演讲主题从她的教育经历变成她的工作履历时,她换了外套。从一件很日常的窄身小西装换成了一件颇具她个人风格的日式宽袖外套。这是她个人魅力的一种展示。


When discussing creativity, she remarked, "If you really want to develop your hobby as a career, don't treat it like a deadline job. Just love it and do it every day, even if it takes up a lot of time in your life." I wholeheartedly agree with this sentiment. Every day is a new beginning. I still remember the countless times I doubted whether I truly loved this profession while preparing my portfolio. When something transitions from an interest to a job, it can become mundane or even frustrating. My attitude towards deadline work is ambiguous, perhaps due to procrastination, disinterest, or insufficient preparation, all of which can lead to the appearance of deadline work. However, hobbies inherently lack these qualities, so don't treat your passion like deadline work; otherwise, it will eventually diminish your enthusiasm and diminish your motivation.

当提及创造力的时候,她提到:“If you really want to develop your hobby as the career dont treat it as a deadline work. Just love it and do it as everyday even if it will take up a lot if time in your life.”我对此深有认同,每一天都是崭新的。我仍然记得当我在准备作品集的时候无数次的怀疑自己是否真的热爱这个事业。当一件事从兴趣变成了工作,它就会变得索然无味,甚至是令人烦躁的。我对于deadline work的态度时模糊的,也许是因为拖延症;或是我本身对于这个任务是不感兴趣的;又或者我对这项工作的展开准备不充分,这些都会导致deadline work的出现。但是hobby本身时不具备这些所有特质的,所以不要像对待deadline work一样对待你的热爱,这样带来的是迟早被消磨殆尽的热情和越来越少的行动力。



These are Katie's job-seeking tips, and I find each one incredibly useful. So, I've included screenshots here for everyone to see.

这些是来自katie的关于求职方面的建议,我认为对我来说,每一条都是非常有用的,所以我把截图放在这里,大家可以一起看看。


The first piece of CV advice: Make sure your resume stands out. To achieve this, I made significant modifications to mine because I fully agree that as a design student, my resume needs to be eye-catching and functional, not just a chronological list of my life experiences. However, as an engineering bachelor, the disparity between my previous educational background and my current major is vast, which is why I feel insecure and powerless. But Katie answered my doubts, telling me that different disciplines' educational backgrounds can give me different perspectives on things, and this is a strong proof of my ability to learn. This was very touching and empowering for me.

CV建议的第一条:确保自己的简历是令人眼前一亮的。为此,我很大程度上修改了我的简历,因为我非常同意,现在作为一个设计学生,我的简历是需要具有抓人眼球以及诠释自己的功能的,而不仅仅只是写我的23年人生都经历了什么。但是作为一位工学学士,我先前的教育经历和现在的专业可以说是天壤之别,因此这也是我感到自卑和无力的方面。但是katie解答了我的困惑,她告诉我不同学科的教育背景容易带给我不同的审视事情的目光,并且这是我具有强学习能力的有力证明。这让我感到很有触动,跨专业学习本身是艰难的,但是katie的话给了我很多鼓励和力量。


During the seminar, I heard a piece of advice that resonated deeply with me: "Archive your work, both academic and personal." I don't think I have this habit, and I hardly realized how important it is for me. Therefore, hearing this advice gave me some profound insights. I still remember a few years ago during an internship interview, the interviewer asked if I had any previous work to showcase. I said of course, then spent at least 5 minutes finding the one, and this folder was still named "Untitled folder".... Haha, I am grateful for the interviewer's patience (waiting for me to find), but I also hate my past self for not archiving my work and projects.

在seminar中,我听到了一条很令我触动的建议:“归档自己的工作内容,不管是学业方面还是个人方面。”

我不认为我有这样的习惯,并且,我几乎没有意识到这样的习惯对我来说是十分重要的。因此在听到这样的建议时,我有一些很深刻的体会。我仍记得我在几年前的一次实习生面试时,面试官问我有没有以前的作品展示。我说当然有了,然后打开了至少13个文件夹才找到,而这个文件夹还是叫未命名文件。。。。哈哈我很感激面试官的耐心(等待我寻找的过程),也很痛恨不归档工作和作品的过去的我。

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page